11.2 C
Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Timoko to make Raiders debut against the Bulldogs

Matt Timoko has been named to make his NRL debut for the Canberra Raiders when they take on the Canterbury Bulldogs at GIO Stadium Canberra this Sunday evening, 30 August.

20-year-old Timoko will become Raiders #369 after being named on the bench and is the fourth Raider to make his NRL debut this season behind Kai O’Donnell, Semi Valemei and Harley Smith-Shields.

He has been named in the side to replace Corey Harawira-Naeara, who is unable to play against the Bulldogs as part of the deal when they released him to sign with the Raiders.

It is the only change to the side that defeated the Gold Coast Titans 36-16 last Saturday at Cbus Super Stadium on the Gold Coast.

The 5th placed Raiders have racked up 74 points in the past two weeks and, with the race for the top 4 well and truly on, they will be looking to take care of the last placed Bulldogs side.

The Bulldogs have made a host of changes to their side that lost 20-14 to the New Zealand Warriors last Sunday at ANZ Stadium.

Halfback Lachlan Lewis has been named to return to partner Kieran Foran in the halves with Jack Cogger relegated to the extended bench once again.

Outside backs Tim Lafai and Remis Smith have been dropped for the returning Marcelo Montoya and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, while Dylan Napa returns to start in the front row after serving a one-week suspension.

Englishman Luke Thompson has been rested after playing seven straight matches since coming over from England mid-season, while Jake Averillo has also been given a week off to clear up some niggling issues.

Full teams:

Raiders Bulldogs 
1Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad1Willl Hopoate
2Jordan Rapana2Nick Meaney
3Jarrod Croker3Marcelo Montoya
4Curtis Scott4Kerrod Holland
5Nick Cotric5Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
6Jack Wighton6Kieran Foran
7George Williams7Lachlan Lewis
8Josh Papalii8Ofahiki Ogden
9Siliva Havili9Jeremy Marshall-King
10Dunamis Lui10Dylan Napa
11John Bateman11Josh Jackson
12Elliott Whitehead12Raymond Faitala-Mariner
13Hudson Young13Aiden Tolman
 Bench Bench
14Tom Starling14Sione Katoa
15Joe Tapine15Renouf To’omaga
16Ryan Sutton16Dean Britt
17Matt Timoko17Matt Doorey
 Reserves Reserves
18Sam Williams18Luke Thompson
19Harley Smith-Shields19Jack Cogger
20Kai O’Donnell20Reimis Smith
21Matt Frawley21Tim Lafai

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!