4.9 C
Sunday, July 25, 2021

Super Rugby AU competition draw released

Rugby fans can rejoice with the Super Rugby AU draw released and the competition set to kick off on 3 July.

The new competition will feature the four Australian based Super Rugby franchises, as well as the Western Force who will be based on the east coast for the initial stages of the 12-week tournament, including finals.

All teams will start on zero competition points under the revised domestic format, after the 15-team three-conference Super Rugby competition was abandoned for 2020 after seven rounds.

The Brumbies were top of the Australian conference, and second overall, when the Super Rugby season came to a close having won five out of their six games and will be hoping to recapture their strong form from earlier in the year.

Their first match will be at home against the Melbourne Rebels on Saturday 4 July. The two sides met on 7 February earlier this year with the Brumbies running out 39-26 victors.

In addition to hosting the Melbourne Rebels, the Brumbies will also have home games against the Reds (1 August), Waratahs (22 August) and Western Force (28 August), along with two byes in Round 2 and Round 7.

The competition will run over 12 consecutive weekends and will culminate in a two-week finals series beginning on 12 September.

The final will be hosted by the team that finishes top of the ladder after the regular rounds and will be played on 19 September. The hosts will play the winner of a two-versus-three qualifying final in the decider.

All matches to kick off the Super Rugby AU season will be played at closed venues, with Rugby Australia to review its position regarding spectator attendance regularly in line with government restrictions.

All matches will be broadcast live and ad-break free on FOX SPORTS on Foxtel, Foxtel NOW and streamed on Kayo.

Plus500 Brumbies 2020 Vodafone Super Rugby AU draw

Round 1
Saturday 4 July
Plus500 Brumbies v Melbourne Rebels, 7:15pm, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 2

Round 3
Saturday 18 July
NSW Waratahs v Plus500 Brumbies, 7:15pm, Sydney

Round 4
Saturday 25 July
Western Force v Plus500 Brumbies, 7:15pm, TBC

Round 5
Saturday 1 August
Plus500 Brumbies v Reds, Sydney, 7:15pm, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 6
Friday 7 August
Melbourne Rebels v Plus500 Brumbies, 7.05pm, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 7

Round 8
Saturday 22 August
Plus500 Brumbies v NSW Waratahs, 7:15pm, GIO Stadium, Camberra

Round 9
Friday 28 August
Plus500 Brumbies v Western Force, 7:05pm, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 10
Saturday 5 September
Queensland Reds v Plus500 Brumbies, 7:15pm, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Qualifying Final
Saturday 12 September
2nd placed team v 3rd placed team

Saturday 19 September
First placed team v winner of Play Off

More sport:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!