6.8 C
Sunday, June 20, 2021

REIACT awards celebrate innovation and adaptation

The ACT’s real estate sector came together last night, Saturday 21 November, to celebrate its achievements and recognise outstanding performers in a year that has changed the way real estate has had to be done.

“This year, our Awards for Excellence has showcased the adaption, innovation and education the real estate sector has had to undertake to meet the challenges that COVID-19 created for our members,” said Real Estate Institute of the ACT (REIACT) president, Michael Kumm.

“As late as June this year, the Institute was still unsure as to whether the awards would even go ahead, but tonight we were able to present 21 awards in front of 170 guests, at an event limited to only nominees for the first time in 26 years of our awards history,” he said.

“I would like to congratulate all our winners and also commend all the finalists. As in past years, it was an exceptionally strong and tight field. The criteria period for this year’s awards was extended to enable nominees to illustrate the COVID-19 impact until the end of September.

“A highlight of the evening was the induction into the REIACT Hall of Fame for Colliers International ACT for Commercial Agency of the Year 2017, 2018 and 2019.”

Other award winners included: Belle Property Kingston – Large Residential Agency of the Year; Ashby Partners Real Estate – Small Residential Agency of the Year; Maria Selleck, Maria Selleck Properties – Residential Salesperson of the Year; Guy Randell, Burgess Rawson – Commercial Salesperson of the Year; Angus Baker, Sentia Real Estate – Rookie of the Year; Susan Weaver, L J Hooker Canberra City – Business Development Manager of the Year; Independent Property Management – Residential Property Management Team of the Year; and Claire Corby, Capital Buyers Agency – Buyers’ Agent of the Year.

REIACT deputy president, Stan Platis, paid tribute to Michael Kumm who had resigned his tenure as president of the REIACT, as he would be stepping down at the conclusion of the awards ceremony.

“Michael has dedicated almost 25 years’ service to the REIACT board and almost 40 years to the industry. He was instrumental in many major changes to our industry including the delivery of the 1997 Residential Tenancy Act and the Mr Fluffy Buy Back Scheme implementation,” he said.

Mr Platis announced that Hannah Gill had been unanimously elected by the REIACT board as the new REIACT president.

“We are very excited to have Hannah at the helm of the Institute and look forward to her leadership and representation of industry, especially working with the new look ACT Government.”

REIACT thanked all the sponsors who helped make the 2020 Awards for Excellence possible: corporate partner Allhomes; silver sponsors BAL Lawyers, REI Super, Coverforce, Terri Scheer, ACT Property Inspections, the Real Estate Employers Federation; and bronze sponsors ACT Housing and Community Services Directorate and Nexis Accounting.

For more news:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!