7.3 C
Friday, May 14, 2021

Raiders stars included in All Stars teams

Four Canberra Raiders stars have been named in the Indigenous and Maori 20-man squads for the All Stars clash in Townsville on Saturday, 20 February.

2020 Dally M Medalist Jack Wighton is the only Raider in the Indigenous All Stars side, while Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad, Joe Tapine and Bailey Simonnson have been named in the Maori All Stars team.

Wighton has been named out of position for the clash and will play at centre like he did for NSW in State of Origin last year. This will be his sixth appearance for the Indigenous All Stars.

Nicoll-Klokstad will play fullback for the Maori team, with Joe Tapine at lock after a stellar 2020 season in that role and Bailey Simonnson named on an extended bench in the 19 jersey.

The game will be played at Queensland Country Bank Stadium in Townsville for the first time, with a 25,000 capacity crowd expected for the pre-season fixture.

Both squads are chock full of talent with the Indigenous side featuring the likes of Rabbitohs big guns Latrell Mitchell and Cody Walker, speedster Josh Addo-Carr and Wade Graham.

Raiders legend Laurie Daley will coach the Indigenous side and said he was excited by having those Rabbitohs stars in his team.

“They’re very influential and it’s important to have good leaders for people to follow,” Daley said. 

“When they’re in this situation they’re comfortable with their voice. They’ll have a big influence.

“Our strength is the backline so we need to take advantage of that.”

The Maori squad looks extremely strong as they look to repeat last year’s 30-16 victory.

Last year’s best on ground in the All Stars clash Brandon Smith will start at hooker alongside the likes of Joseph Manu, Jesse and Kenneath Bromwich and Jahrome Hughes.

Another big name for the Maori team is recent Rabbitohs signing Benji Marshall who has been included on the bench along with his brother Jeremy Marshall-King.

Maori coach David Kidwell said Marshall was thrilled when told him the news and was excited to get into camp.

“When I phoned Benji and asked if he would like to represent the Indigenous Maori, you could just hear the excitement that came across the line from him,” Kidwell told NRL.com.

“And to also be able to play with his brother Jeremy, which he’s never been able to do before, I think that’s really important and something we did well last year.

“He’s looking forward to getting into camp and using his experience.”

Full teams

Indigenous All StarsMaori All Stars
1 Latrell Mitchell1 Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad
2 Blake Ferguson2 Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
3 Jack Wighton3 Joseph Manu
4 Jesse Ramien4 Dylan Walker
5 Josh Addo-Carr5 Reimis Smith
6 Cody Walker6 Jarome Luai
7 Jamal Fogarty7 Jahrome Hughes
8 Andrew Fifita8 Jesse Bromwich
9 Reuben Cotter9 Brandon Smith
10 Josh Kerr10 James Fisher-Harris
11 David Fifita11 Briton Nikora
12 Wade Graham12 Kenneath Bromwich
13 Tyrone Peachey13 Joseph Tapine
14 Alex Johnston14 Jeremy Marshall-King
15 Jamayne Taunoa-Brown15 Kevin Proctor
16 Cade Cust16 Nelson Asofa-Solomona
17 Chris Smith17 Jordan Riki
18 Tyrell Fuimaono18 Patrick Herbert
19 Josh Curren19 Bailey Simonsson
20 Brian Kelly20 Benji Marshall

Tickets are available here.

For more sport:

BAL Lawyers
Amazing Clean
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!