17.3 C
Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Raiders make key changes to side for Dragons clash

The Raiders have made several changes to the 17-man team for their first match back at GIO Stadium Canberra against the St George Illawarra Dragons on Friday night, 3 July.

There have been a couple of forced changes due to injury with Corey Horsburgh ruled out for at least 12 weeks after undergoing surgery on his foot for a Lisfranc injury, while Jordan Rapana is out with a minor calf injury.

The loss of Horsburgh has been mitigated by the return of Joe Tapine who missed last week with a knee injury.

Tapine comes straight in for Horsburgh at lock and will help bolster the Raiders middle defence while Rapana has been replaced on the wing by Bailey Simonsson.

The big change comes with Ricky Stuart shifting off-season recruit Curtis Scott to the bench after struggling for form since the season restarted.

Scott looks devoid of confidence in both attack and defence, so has been replaced in the centres by veteran Michael Oldfield.

Hopefully, a different role in the team can see Scott regain some of the form we saw from him in the first two games of the season.

The Dragons have named an unchanged side for Friday night’s game after a respectable loss to the high-flying Sydney Roosters last round.

The Raiders have been forced to play their home games at Campbelltown Stadium since the season restart and lost both matches to the Newcastle Knights and Manly Sea Eagles, so getting back to their true home ground at GIO will be a huge bonus for the club.

The Raiders will also allow a limited number of fans to attend the match so hopefully the Raiders faithful can inspire their team to a win.

Full teams:

Raiders Dragons 
1Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad1Matthew Dufty
2Bailey Simonsson2Jason Saab
3Jarrod Croker3Euan Aitken
4Michael Oldfield4Zac Lomax
5Nick Cotric5Mikaele Ravalawa
6Jack Wighton6Corey Norman
7George Williams7Adam Clune
8Josh Papalii8Blake Lawrie
9Josh Hodgson9Cameron McInnes
10Iosia Soliola10Paul Vaughan
11Hudson Young11Tyson Frizell
12Elliott Whitehead12Tyrell Fuimaono
13Joe Tapine13Trent Merrin
 Bench Bench
14Curtis Scott14Ben Hunt
15Emre Guler15Josh Kerr
16Ryan Sutton16Korbin Sims
17Siliva Havili17Jackson Ford
 Reserves Reserves
18Tom Starling18Eddie Blacker
19Dunamis Lui19Tristan Sailor
20Matt Frawley20Billy Brittain
21Kai O’Donnell21Timoteo Lafai

Click here for the match preview.

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!