2.6 C
Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Outstanding architecture acknowledged

The ACT Architecture Awards were held via a live stream event on Friday 5 June with For Our Country, the Australian War Memorial’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander memorial, claiming the prestigious Canberra Medallion.

Designed by artist Daniel Boyd and Edition Office Architects, the memorial commemorates the military service and experience of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders who have fought to protect their country.

For Our Country also took out the top honour for Small Project Architecture, winning the Cynthia Breheny Award, the Pamille Berg Award for Art in Architecture and the Robert Foster Award for Light in Architecture.

Another big winner on the night was the ACT Law Courts by Lyons collecting two named awards; the Romaldo Giurgola Award for Public Architecture and the W Hayward Morris Award for Interior Architecture.

Joanna Nelson Architect won the Gene Willsford Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions) for Higgins Crescent Project. The project saw an existing house and outbuilding on a large corner block in an inner Canberra suburb joined by new companion structures to create an intricate ensemble. Photo: Anthony Basheer.

ACT Chapter President Shannon Battisson said that an incredible array of architecture had been displayed during this awards presentation and was testament to the professionalism and talent of architects to find practical, cost effective solutions to the challenges of our rapidly changing built environment.

“I’d like to congratulate our winners and everyone who entered. I’m especially proud that we had such a high level of interest in the Sustainability Award this year with 14 entries. There is no question that good architecture including energy efficient design is fundamental to quality, affordable housing both now and into the future.”

Philip Leeson Architects won the Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland Award for Residential Architecture – Houses (New) for Lemon Wedge House at the 2020 ACT Architecture Awards. Photo: Anthony Basheer.

Other award recipients were: Emerging Architect Prize: Sarah Lebner, Light House Architecture & Science; Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions): The Gene Willsford Award – Higgins Crescent Project by Joanna Nelson Architect; Residential Architecture – Houses (New): The Malcolm Moir and Heather Sutherland Award – Lemon Wedge House by Philip Leeson Architects; Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing: The Sydney Ancher Award – Bruce Hall and Wright Hall by nettletontribe; Educational Architecture: The Enrico Taglietti Award – ANU College of Law by Guida Moseley Brown Architects; Urban Design: The Sir John Overall Award – Campbell Section 5 Master Plan by Hill Thalis Architecture + Urban Projects; Sustainable Architecture: The Derek Wrigley Award – Marie Reay Teaching Centre, ANU by BVN; Enduring Architecture: The Sir Roy Grounds Award – Greenwood House (1975) by Ian Slater; and COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture: Elm Grove House by Ben Walker Architects.

More home stories:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!