6.2 C
Sunday, July 25, 2021

Nicoll-Klokstad returns for Panthers showdown

Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad has been named to return for the Canberra Raiders against the Penrith Panthers at Panthers Stadium this Saturday night, 9 August.

Nicoll-Klokstad required surgery on his little finger after suffering a nasty dislocation in the Raiders’ round 11 victory over the Rabbitohs, but a quick turnaround will see him miss just the one match.

His return to fullback means that Jordan Rapana will shift back to his usual spot on the wing, and Semi Valemei drops out of the squad after suffering a knee injury during the Raiders’ 14-12 victory over the Cowboys last Saturday, 1 August.

The rest of the Raiders starting 17 remains the same as last week with John Bateman backing up after a stellar 80-minute performance against the Cowboys and Corey Harawira-Naera named to start on the bench once again.

In another positive for the Raiders’ depth, veteran outside back Michael Oldfield has overcome a hamstring injury and has been named in the reserves list.

The Raiders escaped Townsville with a close win but will need to improve their performance against a Panthers side that has won seven games in row and sits on top of the ladder.

The Panthers are fresh off dismantling the Manly Sea Eagles 42-12 last Saturday at Lottoland and will no doubt be full of confidence when they return to play at their home ground.

They have been forced into one change with the young try-scoring machine Charlie Staines suffering a hamstring injury against Manly. He has been replaced on the wing by Malakai Watene-Zelezniak.

Full teams

1Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad1Caleb Aekins
2Jordan Rapana2Josh Mansour
3Jarrod Croker3Brent Naden
4Curtis Scott4Stephen Crichton
5Nick Cotric5Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
6Jack Wighton6Jarome Luai
7George Williams7Nathan Cleary
8Josh Papalii8James Tamou
9Siliva Havili9Apisai Koroisau
10Dunamis Lui10James Fisher-Harris
11John Bateman11Viliame Kikau
12Elliott Whitehead12Liam Martin
13Hudson Young13Isaah Yeo
14Tom Starling14Tyrone May
15Joe Tapine15Spencer Leniu
16Ryan Sutton16Moses Leota
17Corey Harawira-Naera17Zane Tetevano
18Sam Williams18Mitch Kenny
19Michael Oldfield19Matt Burton
20Kai O’Donnell20Billy Burns
21Matt Frawley21Daine Laurie

For more stories:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!