5.1 C
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Local Liquor
Local Liquor

Netball facilities score grant

Netball facilities in Lyneham are set to be upgraded after the Canberra Netball Association was awarded a $454,430 federal government grant.

More than 2,300 players and 7,000 supporters will benefit from upgrades to the facilities that have been around since the 1970s.

Currently, the Association has access to one toilet block, with no change rooms, to service all players and spectators using the facilities. The funding from this grant will go towards upgrades to the original toilet block facilities as well as refurbishing and extending the main building to add changing rooms for players and umpires, a community meeting room and kitchenette, seating and shelter for spectators, an undercover area for fundraising barbecues, and greater storage space.

Senator for the ACT, Zed Seselja, said the grant received by the Canberra Netball Association was part of $625,523 delivered into Canberra sporting infrastructure as part of the second $30 million round of the federal government’s Community Sport Infrastructure Program.

The Southlands Tennis Club, Arawang Netball Association and the Southern Canberra Gymnastics Club also shared in funding.

Empowering women in sport

Sport Australia and the AIS have announced successful applicants for two new Talent Programs aimed at addressing the under-representation of female sport executives and high performance coaches in Australian sport. The programs are funded in partnership with the federal government’s Office for Women.

Seventeen coaches and 16 executives have been selected from more than 250 applicants to participate in the intensive leadership development programs that will run concurrently in 2019.

Former Canberran, Lauren Jackson AO, will be inducted into the Australian Basketball Hall of Fame. Getty.

The programs will begin with their first workshops at the end of March, covering areas such as leadership presence, professional networking and understanding barriers to organisational diversity.

Hall of Fame beckons Jackson

Former Olympian, Australian Institute of Sport scholarship recipient, Canberra Capitals champion, and US Women’s National Basketball Association championship player and 2011 WNBA Finals MVP award winner, Lauren Jackson AO (pictured) will be inducted into the Australian Basketball Hall of Fame on 10 May.

In addition to Jackson, other inductees include players Troy Sachs OAM, Allison Tranquilli, Lanard Copeland and Bradley Dalton; contributor Lorraine Landon OAM; and officials Bill Mildenhall and Ray Hunt.

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!