7.7 C
Saturday, July 24, 2021

Marie Hagerty named 2019 CAPO Fellow

Capital Arts Patrons’ Organisation (CAPO) announced the winners of 16 awards in its 35th Annual Grant Round at the CAPO gala auction held on Saturday 3 November at East Space Gallery.

The annual auction is the culmination of CAPO’s work to support and celebrate local artists and arts patronage.

Surrounded by over 120 artworks generously donated by artists, the awards were presented by CAPO’s new patron, internationally renowned artist Patricia Piccinini, and the awards’ respective sponsors.

The CAPO Awards provide financial and in-kind support for a range of new arts projects by emerging and established artists.

The CAPO Fellowship, with a value of up to $15,000, and the Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award, valued at up to $5,000, are funded through the annual fundraiser and auction.

CAPO’s most prestigious award was presented by Piccinini to painter Marie Hagerty, who is the 2019 CAPO Fellow.

Hagerty intends to use her award to mount an exhibition of her paintings at Olsen Gruin Gallery, New York in January 2019.

The $2,500 Canberra Weekly award was presented to Dianna Nixon, who will travel to the UK in 2019 to attend the Estill World Voice Symposium, undertake coaching with leading voice coaches, and connect with music theatre and opera companies.

Other award winners were: the Rosalie Gascoigne Memorial Award – Katy Mutton; Tall Foundation Award – Hannah Gason; Robert Foster Memorial Award – Larah Nott;  Dixon Advisory Award – Julian Laffin; the inaugural Shaw & Partners Award – Nick Stranks; Belconnen Arts Centre Inclusion Award – Maria Cofinas; MPS Travel & Tours Award – the Canberra Mandolin Orchestra; Capital Chemist Award – Shags; Workplace Research Associates Award – Cathy Franzi; the inaugural Canberra Glassworks Award – Madisyn Zabel; Urban Pantry Manuka Award – Marilou Chagnaud; Macquarie Telecom Award – Emma Beer; Capital Insurance Brokers Emerging Artist Award – Naomi Taylor Royds; McGrath Woden Emerging Artist Award – Sian Watson.

The Street’s exclusive

A universal story about the personal compromises made in the pursuit of power and careers, Exclusion, a new work by acclaimed Canberra writer David Atfield, will debut at The Street Theatre later this month.

Atfield’s explosive play looks at the post marriage equality political world and questions just how welcome LGBTIQ people really are in the corridors of power.

Set in the halls of Federal Parliament, Canberra in the present day, Exclusion is a sexy, funny, moving and wildly sensual play combining the complexities of human sexuality with ambitions for power.

Politicians are stripped naked, literally and spiritually, as the characters betray, expose and manipulate each other; identities tumble, marriages fall and alliances break.

The cast features five fine Canberra actors: Craig Alexander, Tracy Bourne, Fi Hopkins, Michael Sparks and, returning to Canberra after graduating from NIDA, Ethan Gibson.

Exclusion will be performed at The Street Theatre, City West, 10-17 November; thestreet.org.au

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!