6.8 C
Friday, May 14, 2021
BAL Lawyers
Amazing Clean

Lui to make Origin debut for Queensland

Canberra Raiders front rower Dunamis Lui will make his State of Origin debut for the Queensland Maroons after being named to start in Game II at ANZ Stadium on Wednesday night, 11 November.

The 30-year-old enjoyed his best season for the Raiders this year and has been rewarded with his first Maroons jersey after 11 years in the NRL.

Lui has been brought into the side after Christian Welch was ruled out with concussion and will start in the front row alongside his Raiders teammate, Josh Papalii.

Wayne Bennett has made a further three changes to his side with Valentine Holmes returning from suspension to cover for the injured AJ Brimson at fullback.

Jaydn Su’A will start in the back row for Coen Hess who has been dropped entirely from the squad with Moeaki Fotuaika coming onto the bench.

Queensland will be looking to wrap up the series when they travel to Sydney after the underdogs recorded a famous 18-14 victory over the NSW Blues in a tense series opener in Adelaide.

The Maroons were given little chance of winning the series, but the game one victory has given Queensland fans more hope.

The NSW Blues have also made several changes after their shock loss with the most notable being Boyd Cordner who has ruled himself out of the rest of the series after copping another head knock.

Cordner has been replaced in the back row by his Roosters teammate Angus Crichton, while another Rooster in Luke Keary has been dropped.

Keary has lost his spot after a poor debut in Game I, with Brad Fittler opting for Cody Walker at five-eighth instead.

Dale Finucane, Isaah Yeo and Nathan Brown have all been brought onto the bench to bolster the Blues forward stocks.

Jack Wighton remains in the centres and will be looking to improve defensively after struggling to contain Dane Gagai and missing seven tackles in game one. He did however run for 179 metres with the ball and looked dangerous in attack.

The Blues would hold no fears of trailing in the series after they dropped the opener last year before winning the final two games to clinch a 2-1 series victory.

Who do you think will win the 2020 State of Origin series?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Full teams:

1James Tedesco 1Valentine Holmes
2Daniel Tupou 2Xavier Coates
3Clint Gutherson 3Kurt Capewell
4Jack Wighton 4Dane Gagai
5Josh Addo-Carr 5Phillip Sami
6Cody Walker 6Cameron Munster
7Nathan Cleary 7Daly Cherry-Evans
8Daniel Saifiti 8Dunamis Lui
9Damien Cook 9Jake Friend
10Junior Paulo 10Josh Papalii
11Angus Crichton 11Felise Kaufusi
12Tyson Frizell 12Jaydyn Su’A
13Jake Trbojevic 13Tino Fa’asuamaleaui
14Dale Finucane 14Ben Hunt
15Junior Paulo 15Linsday Collins
16Nathan Brown 16Jai Arrow
17Isaah Yeo 17Moeaki Fotuaika
18Luke Keary18Brenko Lee
19Reagan Campbell-Gillard19Corey Allan
20Cameron McInnes20Josh Kerr
21Stephen Crichton21Edrick Lee

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!