6.9 C
Saturday, June 19, 2021

Hodgson returns on the bench for Raiders

Former Canberra Raiders captain Josh Hodgson has been named to return on the bench for their Magic Round clash against the Bulldogs at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday 15 May.

Hodgson stepped down as Raiders captain after their loss to the Eels in Round 6 before a calf injury saw him miss the last three matches. Tom Starling remains as the starting hooker while Siliva Havili has dropped out of the 17 and onto the extended bench.

The Raiders suffered a severe injury toll in their 24-16 loss to the Knights last week, with Jordan Rapana (hamstring), Joe Tapine (knee) and Ryan Sutton (elbow) all out. Rapana is expected to miss 1-2 weeks while Tapine and Sutton will miss 2-3.

Rapana’s injury opens the door for Semi Valemei to play his first NRL game this season while Ryan James and Dunamis Lui come onto the bench with Hudson Young to start at lock.

The Raiders are under serious pressure having lost their last five matches and are coming up against another team under the pump.

The Bulldogs sit last on the ladder with just one win for the season and are coming off a 32-12 loss to the Dragons last week.

After being benched during their last loss, Bulldogs halfback Kyle Flanagan has been dropped with Brandon Wakeham to partner Jake Averillo in the halves.

Nick Meaney moves to centre to replace Corey Allan with Tuipulotu Katoa coming onto the wing with former Raider Nick Cotric on the other wing. Dylan Napa returns and will start in the front row.

Raiders and Bulldogs team lists

 Raiders Bulldogs
1Caleb Aekins1Dallin Watene-Zelezniak
2Bailey Simonsson2Nick Cotric
3Seb Kris3Will Hopoate
4Curtis Scott4Nick Meaney
5Semi Valemei5Tuipulotu Katoa
6Jack Wighton6Brandon Wakeham
7George Williams7Jake Averillo
8Josh Papalii8Dylan Napa
9Tom Starling9Sione Katoa
10Emre Guler10Luke Thompson
11Corey Harawira-Naera11Adam Elliott
12Elliott Whitehead12Chris Smith
13Hudson Young13Renouf Atoni
 Bench Bench
14Josh Hodgson14Bradley Deitz
15Dunamis Lui15Corey Waddell
16Corey Horsburgh16Ava Aeumanufagai
17Ryan James17Matt Doorey
 Reserves Reserves
18Sam Williams18Kyle Flanagan
19Matthew Timoko19Joe Stimson
20Siliva Havili20Aaron Schoupp
21Harry Rushton21Ofahiki Ogden
 Coach Coach
 Ricky Stuart Trent Barrett

Click here to buy tickets for Magic Round.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!