Caps secure minor premiership


The University of Canberra Capitals will host a WNBL Semi-Finals series after cementing first place on the ladder with two wins on the road.

The Caps started with a 12-point win over Townsville Fire on Friday 11 January before recording their eighth win in a row on Sunday 13 January with a 20-point victory, 99-79, over the Sydney Uni Flames. The Caps take on Bendigo Spirit on 19 January.

While the Capitals are guaranteed a semi-final spot, their opponents are yet to be known with Perth Lynx to face off against Adelaide Lightning in Round 15. The winner of that game will meet the Caps in their semi-final series while the fourth-placed team will prepare for a semi-final series against the Melbourne Boomers.

Game one of the Capitals’ semi-final series will be held on Friday 25 January. Game two will be played on Wednesday 30 January and game three, if necessary, on Saturday 2 February.

In other club news, five players have been named in the Australian Opals squad including Kelsey Griffin, Leilani Mitchell, Lauren Scherf, Marianna Tolo and Kristy Wallace.

At a glance

Photo Ben Southall.

Tennis: Poland’s Hubert Hurkacz (pictured) won the East Hotel Canberra Challenger in a hard fought three-set battle with Ilya Ivashka (BLR), 6-4 4-6 6-2. In the men’s doubles, third seeds Hugo Nys (FRA) and Marcelo Demoliner (BRA) defeated Andre Goransson (SWE) and Sem Verbeek (NED) 3-6 6-4 10-3.

ABL: The Canberra Cavalry recorded a split series against the Brisbane Bandits. The Cavs started well winning games one and two, 11-6 and 4-1 respectively, before the Bandits fought back to sweep the doubleheader 10-3 and 8-0. Canberra will host Perth in the final round of the regular season with game one 7pm tonight, 17 January.

W-League: Canberra United defeated Adelaide United 1-0 on Sunday 13 January with Ellie Carpenter the goal scorer. Canberra play their final home game of the season 7.30pm tonight, 17 January, against Melbourne Victory at Seiffert Oval, Queanbeyan.

Cycling: Canberra’s Gracie Elvin finished second in the time trial at the 2019 Fed Uni Road National Championships.

Super W: The Brumbies have announced their squad for the second season of the national Super W competition under the leadership of new head coach Adam Butt. The new-look 30-player squad includes 15 returning players and 15 potential debutants. The competition, which also includes Queensland Women, NSW Women, the Rebels and Western Force, is set to start in February.
Brumbies: The Brumbies have announced that the University of Canberra will continue as a major sponsor of the club for the 2019 Super Rugby season.

Circuit upgrade: Construction has started on a major upgrade and extension to the Canberra Kart Racing Club’s ‘Circuit Mark Webber’. A$200,000 investment from the ACT Government will see the Circuit Mark Webber track extended from 750m to 1,100m, bringing it up to international standards. Construction is due to be complete by late 2019.

For more: