11.1 C
Friday, May 7, 2021
Local Liquor
Local Liquor

Capitals eye grand final glory

The University of Canberra Capitals have secured their place in the 2018/19 WNBL grand final series with a 91-75 win over Perth Lynx on 31 January.

The Capitals will nowmeet the Adelaide Lightning, who also earned a place in the grand final series by defeating Melbourne Boomers in the other semi-final.

Having finished on top of the ladder at the end of the regular season, the Capitals will host game one and, if necessary, game three, while the Adelaide Lightning will host game two.

Both teams enter the series with impressive form, as the UC Capitals have won 11 games in a row while the Lightning have prevailed in 12 of their past 14 games, including two victories over the Caps.

The first match of the grand final series is on Saturday 9 February 5.30pm at the AIS Arena in Bruce. Game two will be in Adelaide on Wednesday 13 February, with game three, if required, to be held at the AIS Arena on Saturday 16 February 5pm.

In other WNBL news, a WNBL Awards night will be reinstated to celebrate the 2018/19 season. The event is scheduled for Monday 18 February with awards to include Rookie of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, All-Star Five, Most Valuable Player and Media Awards.

Rachel Corsie, in action for Canberra United, challenges Elizabeth Addo of the Wanderers during their round six W-League match. Getty.

Corsie named United’s best

Canberra United stars Rachel Corsie, Rhoda Mulaudzi and Shamiran Khamis picked up accolades at the club’s 2018/19 awards night on Thursday 31 January, while youngster Laura Hughes’ consistent rise was also awarded.

Scottish international Corsie took home the top award voted as the 2018/19 Player of the Year after an outstanding first campaign in the league as captain of United.

Goalkeeper Khamis was awarded by her peers as the 2018/19 Players’ Player, United’s fans picked out South African forward Rhoda Mulaudzi as their Supporters’ Player of the Year, and Laura Hughes was named Rising Star.

Awards were also presented for United’s second season in the Y-League, with Brodie Clarkson taking home the Player of the Year award, James Fletcher voted as Players’ Player of the Year and local youngster Lucas Mauragis named Rising Star. The 2018/19 season Volunteer of the Year award went to Declan O’Neale.

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!