3 C
Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Canberra Liberals announce shadow cabinet

The new Canberra Liberals shadow cabinet has been revealed, with new Canberra Liberals leader, Elizabeth Lee, to take on the role of Shadow Attorney-General. She will also be the Shadow Minister for Climate Action and Economic Development, Tourism and Major Projects.

She’ll be largely shadowing Chief Minister Andrew Barr and Greens leader Shane Rattenbury in the 10th Assembly, after the Labor-Greens cabinet was announced on Tuesday 3 November.

Deputy Liberals leader Giulia Jones will take on Health, Mental Health and Multicultural Affairs, while former leader Alistair Coe, who Ms Lee said would have a “significant” role, will be Shadow Treasurer as well as taking on Planning, and Sustainable Building and Construction.

Ms Lee said the Shadow Ministerial team brings together experience, energy and enthusiasm.

“We come from a range of diverse backgrounds and will use these experiences to be the best representatives for Canberrans as we can be.”

All nine members of the Canberra Liberals will have a shadow cabinet position, with newcomers Leanne Castley and Peter Cain to take on a number of responsibilities including assisting Ms Lee with her responsibilities with the Economic Development and Attorney-General portfolios respectively.

Another former party leader, Jeremy Hanson, will be the Opposition Whip, while Mark Parton will be the Deputy Speaker.  

Former deputy leader Nicole Lawder, who will take on shadow positions in the portfolios of Seniors, City Services, Women, and the Arts, called on the ACT Government to recognise seniors in its own portfolio, as has previously been done.

The Canberra Liberals have criticised the newly-formed Labor-Greens Government for “demoting” and “sidelining” the seniors portfolio.

For more news stories

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!