6 C
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
BAL Lawyers
Amazing Clean

Brumbies name team for round one clash with Force

The Brumbies have named a strong team as they begin their Super Rugby AU title defence against the Western Force in Perth on Friday night, 19 February.

ACT product Mack Hansen will line up for his first start on the wing, partnered by the ever-reliable Andy Muirhead and Wallabies fullback Tom Banks in the back three. 

Wallabies number nine Nic White will partner fellow Test playmaker Noah Lolesio in the halves.

Wallby squad member Len Ikitau will make his third Super Rugby start at outside centre with Irae Simone at inside centre.

James Slipper will play his 137th Super Rugby match at HBF Park, as part of an all-Test row that includes Folau Fainga’a at hooker and skipper Allan Alaalatoa in the number three jersey.

Darcy Swain and Cadeyrn Neville will partner as locks for the second time.

Jahrome Brown is set to make his return to Super Rugby level alongside Rob Valetini and Pete Samu in the backrow. 

An all-ACT replacement front row sees Connal McInerney, Tom Ross and Harry Lloyd to impact the match off the bench. 

Nick Frost and vice-captain Tom Cusack are the other forward finishers.

Ryan Lonergan is the replacement scrumhalf with teenager Reesjan Pasitoa and the versatile Issak Fines-Leleiwasa rounding out the matchday 23. 

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar said the team was excited to travel together again and play a quality opponent.

“We’re super excited to be back at the starting line of what’s going to be a great Super Rugby season,” said McKellar.

“To head away is an experience we haven’t had a lot of over the past twelve months and I know as a group we love being on the road, enjoying each other’s company and getting a positive result.

“We saw in our trial, that the Western Force are a quality outfit and there’s no doubt they’ll be up for what’s going to be a great occasion at HBF Park on Friday night in front of a big crowd.”

The Brumbies come against a Force side featuring multiple former Brumbies, most noticeably outside centre Tevita Kuridrani.

Kuridrani scored 28 tries in his 135 appearances for the Brumbies between 2012 and 2020 and was part of the Brumbies Super Rugby AU title winning side last year.

The game will be streamed on Stan Sport, Friday 19 February, 10pm.

Full Brumbies and Force teams

1. James Slipper1. Tom Robertson
2. Folau Fainga’a2. Feleti Kaitu’u
3. Allan Alaalatoa (c)3. Santiago Medrano
4. Darcy Swain4. Jeremy Thrush
5. Cadeyrn Neville5. Fergus Lee-Warner
6. Rob Valetini6. Tomas Lezana
7. Jahrome Brown7. Kane Koteka
8. Pete Samu8. Brynard Stander
9. Nic White9. Ian Prior (c)
10. Noah Lolesio10. Jono Lance
11. Mack Hansen11. Marcel Brache
12. Irae Simone12. Kyle Godwin
13. Len Ikitau13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Andy Muirhead14. Byron Ralston
15. Tom Banks15. Robert Kearney
16. Connal McInerney16. Andrew Ready
17. Harry Lloyd17. Angus Warner
18. Tom Ross18. Greg Holmes
19. Nick Frost19. Ryan McCauley
20. Tom Cusack20. Tim Anstee
21. Ryan Lonergan21. Tomas Cubelli
22. Reesjan Pasitoa22. Jake Mcintyre
23. Issak Fines-Leleiwasa23. Richard Kahui

For more sport:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!