11.9 C
Sunday, April 11, 2021

Brumbies looking to finish regular season with a bang

After outclassing a gallant Western Force outfit last Friday night to secure top spot and a home grand final, the Brumbies will be looking to finish the Super Rugby AU regular season on a high when they take on the Queensland Reds at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday night, 5 September.

The men from the ACT welcome back a few high-quality players with the likes of Folau Faingaa, Tevita Kuridrani and Wallabies mainstay, Nic White all named in the starting side for the matchup against the second-placed Reds.

Having the experienced Nic White back in the side will provide the Brumbies a fast-paced structure whilst they look to expose the Reds.

Despite both teams already locked in for the finals, the trip north for the men from the nation’s capital could be a welcome test moving into grand final preparations.

The Reds are certain to finish second and play either the Melbourne Rebels or NSW Waratahs in the second versus third playoff which will decide the Brumbies’ opponents in the grand final at GIO Stadium in Canberra on 19 September.

The Rebels need to beat the Force by four points or more to leapfrog the Waratahs on the ladder and book their place against the Reds.

The Reds will be looking to make amends after their last encounter at GIO Stadium in round 5, following a penalty goal from young iceman Mack Hansen after the siren to win the game for the Brumbies.

There are many players to lookout for in this encounter and you cannot go past the form of Pete Samu. Week in, week out, he continues to be a stalwart in the Brumbies side and is a dominating figure as a ball carrier.


1. Scott Sio

2. Folau Fainga’a

3. Allan Alaalatoa (c)

4. Darcy Swain

5. Cadeyrn Neville

6. Rob Valetini

7. Will Miller

8. Pete Samu

9. Nic White

10. Bayley Kuenzle

11. Tom Wright

12. Irae Simone

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Andy Muirhead

15. Tom Banks


16. Connal McInerney

17. James Slipper

18. Tom Ross

19. Nick Frost

20. Lachlan McCaffrey

21. Ryan Lonergan

22. Len Ikitau

23. Solomone Kata

For more sport:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!