7.8 C
Saturday, June 19, 2021

Brad Schneider to debut, Williams and Sutton return

The Canberra Raiders have made several changes for their clash with the Melbourne Storm at GIO Stadium on Saturday night, 22 May.

With the suspensions handed down to star trio Josh Papalii, Josh Hodgson and Jack Wighton, Ricky Stuart has called upon a couple of veterans and a debutant to fill their void.

Sam Williams replaces Wighton at five-eighth with Dunamis Lui to start at prop in place of Papalii. Ryan Sutton has been named on the bench as he returns from an elbow injury.

Brad Schneider will debut and become Raider #376 after being named to replace Hodgson as the bench utility. Schneider has played seven matches for the Raiders NSW Cup side this year, scoring tree tries along with six try assists.

The Raiders broke a five-match losing streak with a 20-18 victory over the Bulldogs last round but will need to improve on that performance to be a chance against the reigning premiers.

The Storm have been hit with some injury woes of their own with Ryan Papenhuyzen, Ryley Jacks and Tyson Smoothy all joining Cameron Munster and Harry Grant on the sidelines.

Nicho Hynes will start at fullback after picking up five try assists in the position last week while Brandon Smith returns at hooker.

Chris Lewis has been named at five-eighth with Aaron Pene coming onto the bench.

Raiders and Storm team lists

Raiders Storm
1Caleb Aekins1Nicho Hynes
2Bailey Simonsson2George Jennings
3Seb Kris3Reimis Smith
4Curtis Scott4Justin Olam
5Semi Valemei5Josh Addo-Carr
6Sam Williams6Chris Lewis
7George Williams7Jahrome Hughes
8Dunamis Lui8Jesse Bromwich
9Tom Starling9Brandon Smith
10Emre Guler10Christian Welch
11Corey Harawira-Naera11Felise Kaufusi
12Elliott Whitehead12Kenneath Bromwich
13Hudson Young13Dale Finucane
 Bench Bench
14Brad Schneider14Aaron Pene
15Ryan Sutton15Tui Kamikamica
16Corey Horsburgh16Tom Eisenhuth
17Ryan James17Nelson Asofa-Solomona
 Reserves Reserves
18Matthew Timoko18Aaron Booth
19Sia Soliola19Cooper Johns
20Siliva Havili20Trent Loiero
21Harry Rushton21Dean Ieremia
 Coach Coach
 Ricky Stuart Craig Bellamy

More sport:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!