7.7 C
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
BAL Lawyers
Amazing Clean

Bloomfield called up for PM’s XI

Djali Bloomfield will be the first local player to play in the PM’s XI in four years, named in the squad for next week’s T20 clash against Sri Lanka.

Bloomfield, a proud Indigenous Australian and right-arm fast bowler, has proven himself to be a successful T20 bowler, taking 11 wickets at 15.63 with an economy rate of 7.8 in last year’s 2nd XI T20 competition for the Comets.

Cricket ACT CEO James Allsopp welcomed Bloomfield’s selection, acknowledging Canberra “has a proud history of local players competing and performing admirably in the PM’s games over the years”.

“I am thrilled that Cricket Australia and the PM’s office have recognised this and provided Djali with the opportunity to create his own slice of history around our traditional match.”

The Prime Minister’s XI squad will be coached by former Australian fast bowler Jason Gillespie, who will oversee an outfit boasting five players with international experience, including co-captains Peter Siddle and Dan Christian.

The rest of the squad includes Ben Cutting, Chris Green, Harry Nielsen, Jordan Silk, Chris Lynn, Jason Sangha, Fawad Ahmed and Daniel Fallins. The ACT’s Daniel Leerdam is 12th man.

Cricket Australia national talent and pathway manager, Graham Manou, said: “There is an excellent blend of experience and youth among this group. We anticipate that emerging players such as Djali Bloomfield, Daniel Fallins and Jason Sangha will take great benefit from appearing alongside the likes of Chris Lynn and Fawad Ahmed.”

The PM’s XI match is just the start of a bumper summer of T20 cricket for the Territory with Cricket ACT announcing there will be “an impressive line-up of 10 international matches and three Sydney Thunder matches, all at the historic Manuka Oval”.

The matches include the PM’s XI v Sri Lanka match on Thursday 24 October, as well as an Australia v Pakistan men’s international (5 November), and a number of women’s internationals including five matches of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

The Prime Minister’s XI will play Sri Lanka at Manuka Oval on Thursday 24 October with play starting at 7.10pm.

Tickets are available at cricket.com.au/tickets/canberra

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!