10.5 C
Friday, May 14, 2021

Australia Day 2021 Honours: Canberra locals on the list

Canberrans are among more than 800 Australians, who have served the community “in almost every way conceivable”, congratulated by the Governor-General David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) today, 26 January, as they were added to the Australia Day 2021 Honours List.

General Hurley said it was a diverse and unique group of people who shared some common characteristics, including selflessness, commitment and dedication.

“Recipients have not put their hand up to be recognised,” he said.

“Most would consider the achievements that they are being recognised for to be ‘ordinary’ or just what they do.

“Therein is the great strength of our system – recipients in the Order of Australia have been nominated by their peers, considered by an independent process and, today, recognised by the nation.”

General Hurley said he was determined to make sure the Order of Australia reflected the diversity and breadth of the community.

“More needs to be done to achieve gender parity and increase diversity in other areas.”

He strongly encouraged all Australians who knew a worthy nominee to submit a nomination.

“It is a wonderful way to recognise and celebrate achievement, service and contribution to community.”

Canberra Weekly assembled a list of locals who feature on this year’s General Division and Meritorious Awards lists.


Officer (AO) of the Order of Australia

Mr Malcolm John Hazell CVO AM; For distinguished service to the Crown, and through a range of advisory and consultancy roles with government and business.

Member (AM) of the Order of Australia

Canberra Airport managing director Stephen Byron was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia on 26 January 2021. File image.

Professor Emily Banks; For significant service to medical research and education.

Mr Stephen James Byron; For significant service to the aviation infrastructure sector, and to tourism.

Dr Paul Craft; For significant service to medicine, to oncology, and to professional organisations.

Dr Gregory John Fealy; For significant service to tertiary education, and to Australia-Indonesia relations.

Dr Jillian Anne Guthrie; For significant service to Indigenous health, and to justice reinvestment policy.

Mrs Genevieve Mary Jacobs;  For significant service to the broadcast media, and to the community.

Colonel William James Kelly (Retd);  For significant service to pharmacy through a range of roles.

Mrs Sotiria Liangis OAM; For significant service to the community through philanthropic support initiatives.

Dr Paul William Roche; For significant service to epidemiology, and to the international community of Nepal.

Mr Allan Ernest Williams; For significant service to business tourism, and to the community.

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia

Mrs Coralie Pearl Amos; For service to the community through a range of roles.

Mrs Elizabeth Avery; For service to swimming.

Ms Tanya Barden; For service to business, and to the community.

Mr Douglas James Brown; For service to veterans and their families.

Mr Calvin Thomas Bruton; For service to basketball as a player and coach.

Ms Brenda Mary De Bes; For service to youth through Scouts.

Mr Christopher Diener; For service to people with a disability, and to youth through Scouts.

Mr John Robert Evans; For service to bushwalking, and to the community.

Emeritus Professor John Philips Hardy; For service to tertiary education, particularly to the humanities.

Mr Abdul Rahman Hashim; For service to the multicultural community of the Australian Capital Territory.

Mrs Wanda Horky; For service to the Polish community in Australia.

The late Mrs Ismini (Pitsa) Parrett; For service to community health through exercise therapy and aquatic rehabilitation.

Mr Duncan Grant Taylor RFD ED; For service to youth.

Mr George Roger Wainwright; For service to veterans.


Public Service Medal (PSM)


Ms Caroline Ann Edwards; For outstanding public service to the development and implementation of health and social policy, and leading the Government’s health response to COVID-19.

Dr Marion Joy Healy; For outstanding public service to policy and regulatory practice including in the areas of food, chemicals and plant biosecurity.

Ms Rachel Joy Henry; For outstanding public service to the development and implementation of the National Consumer Protection Framework for Online Wagering.

Dr Doug Marmion; For outstanding public service through the strengthening of Indigenous language infrastructure.

Ms Lisa Schofield; For outstanding public service in the delivery of the treaty establishing maritime boundaries between Australia and Timor-Leste.

Mr Andrew Shaw Todd; For outstanding public service through the development and implementation of Australian Government policy on consular matters, and the response to offshore crises.

Mr Paul David Way; For outstanding public service through the development of programs which support current, and transitioning, Australian Defence Force members and their families.

Ms Jennifer Elizabeth Wilkinson; For outstanding public service in the development of fiscal policy, particularly in the formulation of the Australian Government’s economic response to COVID-19.


Mr Mark Huxley; For outstanding public service to education in the Australian Capital Territory.

Ms Anita Perkins; For outstanding public service to strategic communications and community engagement in the Australian Capital Territory.

Ms Narelle Joy Rivers; For outstanding public service through improved outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in the Australian Capital Territory.

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM)

Mr Gary Robert Hooker; For dedicated and committed service to the Australian Capital Territory Rural Fire Service, and to the wider community,

Mr Noel Walter McLaren; For diligence and dedication in the Fire Fighter Training and Development portfolio, and his commitment to the safety of the ACT community throughout a more than 30-year career.


There were two Australians appointed Officer of the Order, 11 appointed Member of the Order and 15 awarded Medal of the Order.

Seventy servicemen and women were honoured with Distinguished and Conspicuous Awards.

The Military Honours List did not include the location of those appointed and awarded honours in 2021.

Anyone can nominate any Australian for an award in the Order of Australia. If you know someone worthy, nominate them at www.gg.gov.au

For more news:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!