14.3 C
Saturday, April 17, 2021

At a glance: Roosters pip Raiders

Roosters pip Raiders

The Raiders suffered a narrow four-point loss to the Roosters on Sunday 11 August in captain Jarrod Croker’s 250th NRL match. A crowd of 19,530 fans turned out at GIO Stadium for the match which saw the Roosters win 22-18. The Raiders face another tough test this weekend taking on ladder leaders Melbourne Storm in Melbourne on Saturday 17 August.

CBR Brave fire

The CBR Brave recorded two comprehensive wins in the Australian Ice Hockey League on the weekend of 10-11 August, defeating Sydney Ice Dogs 12-5 and Melbourne Mustangs 7-4. The CBR Brave host the Newcastle Northstars at Phillip on Saturday 17 August 5.30pm.

Brumbies movements

Highly-rated Junior Wallabies international Lachlan Lonergan has signed a two-year contract with the Brumbies, joining his older brother Ryan in the senior squad for the 2020-2021 Super Rugby seasons; Australian Schoolboys scrumhalf Lachlan Albert has agreed to a three-year commitment to the club starting in November 2019; and Matt Lucas has been released early from his contract to take up an offer with Japanese Top League side the Ricoh Black Rams from September.

Canberra Chill squads

The Canberra Chill has announced their initial squad lists and coaches for the inaugural Hockey One league. Former Kookaburra and long-time ACTAS coach Ben Bishop will fill the role of High Performance Director; Peter Morgan is the men’s head coach with Seyi Onitiri senior assistant coach; and Terry Evans is the women’s head coach. Both the men’s and women’s sides boast current and former Kookaburras and Hockeyroos, national development squad players, national junior representatives and local talent. The final squads will be cut to 20 players before the season opener against the Brisbane Blaze on 29 September.

WNBL fixture released

A replay of the 2019 Grand Final between Adelaide Lightning and the UC Capitals will feature in the opening round of the WNBL season on Sunday 13 October at the AIS Arena in Canberra. Overall, the UC Caps will host 11 home games this season with three at the AIS Arena and the remainder at the National Convention Centre Canberra. The 16-round fixture again includes three weeks of finals with the three-game Grand Final series to start Sunday 1 March 2020.

For more:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!