17.3 C
Tuesday, April 13, 2021

ACT Greens look to be big winners of 2020 election

With 78.4% of the vote counted last night, the Greens look like the big winners in the 2020 ACT election, potentially increasing their seats in the Legislative Assembly from two to three, with the potential to pick up three more, according to the ABC’s election analyst Antony Green.

With 20% of the vote still to be counted, predominantly postal votes, projected results suggest there are four seats still in doubt this morning; 21 of the 25 seats in the ACT Legislative Assembly have been decided: 10 to Labor, eight to the Liberals and three to the Greens. Mr Green was last night predicting the Greens have a chance to pick up as many as three more seats, potentially increasing their presence from two Members in the last Legislative Assembly to six this time.

ACT-wide, the Greens have recorded a 3.6% swing in their favour while, conversely, the Liberals have recorded a 3.6% swing against them. Labor’s vote has largely remained unchanged.

ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr claimed victory last night and looks set to return for another term with the support of the Greens. It is the Labor Party’s sixth successive ACT election victory.

For the Greens, leader Shane Rattenbury retains his seat in Kurrajong, Emma Davidson replaces retiring Greens MLA Caroline Le Couteur in Murrumbidgee, while Andrew Braddock looks likely to pick up a seat in Yerrabi.

Around the grounds in the five five-member electorates, projected results indicate:


Sitting Labor members Joy Burch and Mick Gentlemen and Liberals Mark Parton and Nicole Lawder have been re-elected.

Former Liberals MLA Andrew Wall has been defeated.

The fifth seat appears to be a battle between Labor’s Taimus Werner-Gibbings and the Greens’ Johnathan Davis.


Labor MLAs Yvette Berry and Tara Cheyne and the Liberals’ Elizabeth Kikkert have been re-elected.

Three possible contenders for the remaining two seats are Gordon Ramsay of the Labor Party, Jo Clay of the Greens and Peter Cain of the Liberals.


Labor’s Andrew Barr (Chief Minister) and Rachel Stephen-Smith, the Greens’ Shane Rattenbury and Liberals’ Elizabeth Lee have been re-elected.

Rebecca Vassarotti looks likely to pick up the fifth seat.

Liberals’ MLA Candice Burch looks likely to lose her seat.


The Liberals’ Jeremy Hanson and Giulia Jones and Labor’s Chris Steel have been re-elected. Marisa Paterson for Labor has been elected, while former Labor MLA Bec Cody has been defeated. Emma Davidson for the Greens has held onto the seat vacated by retiring Greens MLA Caroline Le Couteur.


Labor’s Michael Pettersson and Suzanne Orr and Liberals leader Alistair Coe have been re-elected. The Liberals’ Leanne Castley has been elected while James Milligan has been defeated. Andrew Braddock picks up the fifth seat for the Greens.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!