7.9 C
Thursday, April 15, 2021

2020 CBR Sport Awards finalists cover 15 sports

The 21 finalists for the 2020 CBR Sport Awards for outstanding teams and individual athletes have been announced by ACT Minister for Sport and Recreation, Yvette Berry.

The nominees cover a total of 15 sports, ranging from Orienteering and Rowing through to cross country mountain biking.

2020 has been an extremely challenging year for Canberra sport with bushfires, hailstorms, and the pandemic making it difficult on all athletes.

However, the high number of nominations received shows that the future is still bright for sport in Canberra.

This year, the CBR Sport Awards will be a virtual event which will be run online on Wednesday 16 December.

For more information on how to register to attend the event, visit the CBR Sport Awards event website at: www.cbrsportawards.com.au.

The award finalists, in no particular order, are:

Athlete of the Year – Men’s Sport

  • Jack Steele (AFL)
  • Alan Alaalatoa (Rugby Union)
  • Jack Wighton (Rugby League)

Athlete of the Year – Women’s Sport

  • Vanessa Low (Athletics)
  • Laura Peel (Snowsports)
  • Rebecca McConnell (Cross Country Mountain Bike)

Athlete of the Year – Para Sport

  • Kathryn Ross (Rowing)
  • Joshua Alford (Swimming)
  • Vanessa Low (Athletics)

Team of the Year

  • ACT Brumbies (Rugby Union)
  • Belconnen Magpies Women’s First Grade (AFL)
  • UC Capitals (Basketball)

Rising Star

  • Matthew Wilson (Water polo)
  • Chloe Bateup (Triathlon)
  • Hayley Taylor-Young (Soccer)

Minister for Sport and Recreation Award for Inclusion

  • Table Tennis ACT
  • Canberra United
  • Gungahlin Jets Netball Club

Minister for Sport and Recreation Award for Innovation

  • Rowing ACT
  • Cyclabilities
  • Orienteering ACT

For more news:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!